Best Paper Award

In line with the IFABS tradition, the best paper drawn from the papers presented at the IFABS 2016 Barcelona Conference were awarded the IFABS Best Research Paper Award. IFABS Best PhD Paper Award was given to the best paper written by a PhD student. And IFABS Best Poster Award was given to the best poster presented. All awards include an honorarium.

IFABS 2016 Barcelona Conference Winners

IFABS Best Paper Award - Sweder J.G. van Wijnbergen, University of Amsterdam, NL
Paper title: "CoCos, contagion and systemic risk" (van Wijnbergen & Chan)

IFABS Best Ph.D. Paper Award - Jonathan Smith, University of Cambridge, UK
Paper title: "The leverage ratio, risk-taking and bank stability" (Smith, Grill & Lang)

IFABS Best Poster Award - Daniela Nuscheler, TU Dortmund University, DE
Paper title: "Regularly change a running system! An analysis of stage-specific criteria for attracting venture capital and changing the likelihood for getting funded" (Nuscheler)


IFABS 2016 Barcelona Runner Ups for Best Paper Award

Horacio Sapriza, Federal Reserve Board, US
Paper title: "International evidence on government support and risk taking in the banking sector" (Brandao-Marques, Correa & Sapriza)
Jonas Nygaard Eriksen, Aarhus University and CREATES, DK
Paper title: "Macro risk premia" (Eriksen, Schmeling & Wagner)


IFABS 2016 Barcelona Runner Ups for Best Ph.D. Paper Award

Ivan Lim, University of Edinburgh Business School, UK
Paper title: "Regulatory monitoring, information asymmetry and accounting quality: Evidence from the banking industry" (Lim, Hagendorff & Armitage)
Qiubin Huang, University of Groningen, NL
Paper title: "Does systemic risk matter for bank stock returns?" (Huang, de Haan & Scholtens)


IFABS 2016 Barcelona Runner Ups for Best Poster Award

Luiz Fernando Fortes Felix, VU University, NL
Paper title: "Single stock call options as lottery tickets" (Felix, Krauss & Stork)
Mikhail V. Oet, Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland/ Case Western Reserve University, US
Paper title: "All things change in the interbank market: Policy experiments from mutamur in illis" (Oet, Dooley, Ong & Lyytinen)
Maximilian Overkott, Technische Universität München, DE
Paper title: "ETF flows and underlying stock returns: The true cost of NAV-based trading" (Osterhoff & Overkott)

IFABS Barcelona Awards Committee

Chair: Peter M. Jackson, University of Leicester

Sanjay Banerji, University of Nottingham
Jose Berrospide, Federal Reserve Board
Alistair Bruce, University of Nottingham
Dan Ladley, University of Leicester
Diego Prior, University Autonoma Barcelona
Koen Schoors, Ghent University
Mohamed Shaban, University of Sheffield
Naoyuki Yoshino, Asian Development Bank Institute
Ania Zalewska, University of Bath