2013 Nottingham, UK

Call for Papers [transcript]

The Search for Financial Stability: Models, Policies and Prospects

East Midlands Conference Centre | Nottingham, United Kingdom

June 26-28, 2013

Special issue in Journal of Banking and Finance


Keynote Speakers:

Professor Lord May of Oxford OM AC Kt FRS  University of Oxford

Dr Alexandros Vardoulakis  European Central Bank and Banque de France

Martin Brooke  Head of International Finance Division Bank of England


Dear Colleagues and Friends,

The IFABS 2013 Conference is jointly organized by University of Leicester, University of Cambridge and University of Warwick (United Kingdom) in association with the Journal of Banking and Finance, in the historical city of Nottingham, United Kingdom, on 26-28 June, 2013.

In 2013, IFABS will be celebrating its 5th year! The highlights of the 5th Year celebrations include an impressive academic program along with a splendid social program (the Very Welcoming Reception and the Grand Gala Dinner) that offers a wealth of entertainment and networking opportunities.

Established in the UK, the purpose of IFABS is to raise awareness of the importance of banking and finance for economic development and the wellbeing of members of society. IFABS annual conferences provide a forum for discussion, critical analysis and networking amongst academics, policy-makers, research students and practitioners with an interest in contemporary issues in banking and finance research.


The conference organizers would like to invite the submission of papers relating to all aspects of banking and finance. Both theoretical and empirical papers are encouraged in areas which include, but are not limited to:

• Asset Pricing
• Capital Markets
• Financial Crises
• Financial Regulation
• Emerging Market
• Macro-financial Linkages
• International Financial Integration  

• Banking
• Financial Intermediation
• Corporate Governance
• International Corporate Finance
• Corporate Investment Decision
• Efficiency & Productivity Analysis     
• Mathematical & Computational Modelling  

• Financial Econometrics
• High Frequency Finance
• Market Microstructure
• Risk Management
• Global Risk Markets
• Securitization
• Financial Policy
• Econophysics

Please submit a very detailed abstract or preferably, a completed paper, along with the names, addresses, affiliations, phone numbers and e-mail addresses of ALL co-authors by 15th March 2013 using the submission system at the Conference website: www.ifabsconference.com


A special issue of the Journal of Banking and Finance (JBF) on the conference theme will be published under the Guest Editorship of Meryem Duygun, Ingmar Nolte, Filipa Sá and Mohamed Shaban.

Papers submitted for this special issue will undergo the normal journal reviewing process and the journal’s usual submission fee will apply. Authors whose papers are accepted for presentation at the conference are encouraged to submit their papers to the JBF special issue. Additional details for the submission procedure are available at the Conference website.


The best paper drawn from the papers presented at the IFABS 2013 Conference will be presented in the name of “William F. Sharpe Best Paper Award” in recognition of the outstanding contributions of Professor William F Sharpe, the winner of the 1990 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences, to the field of economics and finance over 50 years. The prize includes an honorarium award.


IFABS Best Doctoral Paper Award will be given to the best paper written by a PhD student. The prize includes an honorarium award.


The Conference chairs welcome proposals for special sessions, roundtables and panel discussions. At IFABS 2012, special topical sessions were organised by fellow colleagues from the Bank of England, Federal Reserve Board, Bank of France, Bank of Spain, Lancaster University's GOLCER and University of Bangor.

If you would like to organize any special session / roundtable / panel session, please send your proposal to IFABS2013@le.ac.uk by 15th March, 2013.

We look forward to sharing our joy with you at the IFABS Very Special 5th Year Celebrations.

IFABS 2013 Conference Chairs

Meryem Duygun, University of Leicester

Ingmar Nolte, University of Warwick

Filipa Sá, University of Cambridge